Another UK resident

New to the forum? Tell us a little about yourself and what you collect here.
mophius
Crafty Captain
Crafty Captain

Another UK resident

Post by mophius »

Hi all, my name is Martin and I am 38 (i think) I have spent so long telling people I am 21 that i still think i am.
I am a car mechanic working for a national name so i can get a bit technical at times. Please no asking about your cars as you will only get ignored, I do enough of that during the day.
I have built over time: (unsure of scales)
TOS Enterprise
TOS D7 battle cruiser
TOS Romulan Bird of Prey
TNG Enterprise D
TNG Romulan Warbird
TNG Ferengi Marauder
Various military aircraft
Various tanks
some trains, carriages and freight wagons
Even tried a model of The Santa Maria, it went horribly wrong in the end so ditched it.

The star trek models i did were all when i was at school and about 12 years old. I did them all quickly and didn't tidy up all the joins or sprue bits. I want to retry what i did when i was younger but this time take some pride in what i am doing.

I have seen questions on here about scales and which to use. I would like to ask which has the most variety so i can get to making and have a nice selection all about the same size.

I can remember going to my local model shop and asking after certain models but always getting told "we don' t have that one." I ended up frustrated that i couldn't get some different models at the time.
I am now looking forwards to building these ships again and lots more. Even the thought of putting the light kits in is making me excited to get building right away. I can't though as I now have to wait for payday.

Will post some pics of my first basic build but in the meantime will keep looking for some good tips from all you vet modellers.
There is no dark side of the moon really, matter of fact its all dark.
Scotchyn
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Re: Another UK resident

Post by Scotchyn »

welcome, glad you found us!!
Kremin