1/2500 Lighted TOS Enterprise Diorama WITHDRAWN

Each participant will have their own Work in Progress thread, which will be updated as the contest progresses. Please note that spectators aren't allowed to start new threads, but can reply to existing ones.
slawton
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

1/2500 Lighted TOS Enterprise Diorama WITHDRAWN

Post by slawton »

My 1st constest as well as my 1st lighted model! I view this as a learning experience. I will use the AMT 1/2500 Cadet Series kit and customize it as-necessary to increase accuracy. Inspired by others who've managed to add lighting to these small kits, I will give it my best shot. I intend to place it in a memorable diorama -- I'm thinking "The Tholian Web".
Last edited by slawton on Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
I'm a modeler, not a doctor...

Introduction
Galleries: Member, Comparison, Fleet, Action, Manufacturer
slawton
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Re: 1/2500 Lighted TOS Enterprise Diorama

Post by slawton »

Here is my kit, decals (from several TOS Enterprise kits) and some electronics (LEDs, resistors, etc.):

Introduction
slawton
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Post by slawton »

Here's an underneath shot -- lots of lights in a small area. There are white beacons blinking on/off every second or so on the port/starboard side of the saucer. On the top, these same beacons are green & red. I'm not sure how to simulate the light effect on the nacelle domes.

Another view from the rear -- more lights near the shuttle hangar doors:

A side shot of the Defiant (I'd like to simulate that eerie glow for another project). I don't know how I'll get all of those lights on the neck.