TOS Romulan BoP

For all other scales including 1/72, 1/537, 1/650 and Studio.
MSgtUSAFRet
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

TOS Romulan BoP

Post by MSgtUSAFRet »

Hey Guys!

I'm kinda new to this forum so I thought I would start out with a "simple" build currently on the bench. I am building a AMT 1/650 TOS Romulan BOP. This will continue my infatuation with ST:TOS but, after having build one AMT/ERTL 18" TOS Enterprise and restored one 1974 TOS Enterprise, I am ready to build something a bit different from the Federation! :D

I chose this kit for some specific reasons: 1) the kit is a relatively easy build 2) it is a TOS era kit 3) this will be my first attempt at lighting a kit! I hope to not have to focus so much on the build as I can focus on the lighting. The aspect that is a bit intimidating is the lighting portion. I am a “business major” by education and very few dental patients (read here NONE!) ask for a lighted prosthesis so I am a virtual newb to this part of the community and to electronics itself. So I may be asking a lot of questions on lighting in the Modeler’s Question board. Inspired by Steve’s (trekkriffic) build, I plan to add gridlines and impulse exhaust ports and a little more detail than what may be considered canon.

My son picked up a TOS Romulan BOP Diamond Select display model (Yes, I have infected by children with a love of all things Star Trek!) with lights and sound, so I will be using it as a 3-D guide.
In comparing the two, I immediately see glaring differences. Looking at it from the Dorsal view, the stern of the Hull is missing some contour. I would like to add the missing contour.

Image20160503_192243

Jay Denis , a builder on Culttvman.com, provides a partial list of the AMT models inaccuracies:
1. Engine nacelle forward detail – AMT designed it with a full sphere instead of a half sphere
2. Engine nacelle rear detail – should be smaller outside circumference than the rest of the engine