AMT Enterprise C paint colors

WiP, finished models and general 1/1400 chit chat.
Zerog270
Candid Cadet
Candid Cadet

AMT Enterprise C paint colors

Post by Zerog270 »

Please don't flame me for being a complete newbie. I finally decided to pick up an old hobby and build a model kit. My first one in 20 years.

I recently purchased the AMT (Round2) Enterprise C and started looking at the paint colors as listed in the directions. It appears Testors does not make three of the colors anymore as suggested; Panzer Gray #1950, Russian Flanker Medium Blue #2132, and Russian FLanker Blue/Gray #2131.

Any suggestions on replacement colors? Or what colors you would use?

Thanks!

-Mike
andyh
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Re: AMT Enterprise C paint colors

Post by andyh »

I used a mix of 50/50 duck egg blue and light grey (any would do) for the base colour. Then for the next darkest colour I used straight duck egg blue. For the darker blue, I just found a blue which was the closest match to the Decals I got from DLM so I'm sorry, I can't remember what colour that was.

Any dark grey would suffice for a replacement of Panzer grey.

Andy
Max Nex
Legendary LT Commander
Legendary LT Commander

Post by Max Nex »

It's a pity...
as I was going to recommend Flanker Pale blue for the base coat and Flanker medium blue for the second coat.
as for the phaser strips you can use Aggressor Gray FS 36251 (?) or Dark Gull Gray FS 36231
NCC1966
Crafty Commodore
Crafty Commodore

Post by NCC1966 »

Starship color is always tricky. Till the date there is not a consensus even about the old TOS Enterprise...

I just read an interesting article (https://culttvman.com/main/what-color-is ... -m-newitt/) explaining as grey tones can borrow the hue of the environment around. It may look greenish, bluish or reddish depending on the light...

:?

But anyway... basically the rule of thumb for me when I select the color to use is:

1) Search Google after models (either real as well CGI) for reference